How To Use WhatsApp Live Location & Why

How to use WhatsApp Live Location

WhatsApp rolled out a simple and secure feature for both Android and iOS that allows you to share your live location in real-time to let people know where you are, whether you’re meeting up with friends, letting loved ones know you’re safe, or sharing your commute.

Previously, the location-sharing feature on the app only allowed users to share a static spot on a map.

The recent upgraded feature allows the live location to be shared even as people move.

The live location feature is end-to-end encrypted, which means no one can see your live location except the people you shared with. And once shared, it can only be viewed for a specific amount of time with the participants of an individual or group chat.

Here is how to share live location

  • There is a paper clip button on the bottom right corner where there is a message field.
  • You click on it and it will lead you to options which include Location, tap on it.
  • From there, you can choose to ‘Share Live Location’ or ‘Send your current location’.
  • On the live location field, you can choose the specific amount of time ranging from 15 minutes, an hour, to 8 hours, the participants can track you.

Why share a live location?

Aside from it being the best way to give one direction to where you are, the feature is most important for safety reasons. Tracking one person from one place to another helps locate them once they are in danger.

This is best for parents to look out for their kids as they travel from one place to another.

This feature is not creepy at all,  and is not much of a danger to one considering the fact that for one to be tracked, he/she must first give permission by sending location to people.

Read Next


Get Notification of New Posts Each Time WE POST a new article!

Never miss an update from Whatsapp Downloads and Tips – just enter your email address below and you'll get an email every time we publish news stories!


You may also like...